Bike shorts….A necessary evil


Lovin those legs!

Reinventing the Wheel at 50

IMG_0318

I’ve heard it said that how cool you look in lycra padded bike shorts is inversely related to the distance from your bike. In other words, when I’m standing next to my bike, I’m cool. When I walk into the convenience store, I’ve become a dork. That being said, after donning the awkward apparel, I would never ride a bike even for the shortest ride without them. This is a classic picture on how not to wear bike shorts.
awkward bike shorts

There are some things you need to know about choosing appropriate bike shorts. There are a number of different styles and lengths for the various cycling disciplines. Like any other sport, most cyclists are a bit snobbish about how they look. Mountain Bikers like to wear long shorts over their padded ones and touring bikers are similar. We’ll focus on road cycling attire for this post.

Sizing: One thing I’ve noticed…

View original post 376 more words

Leave a Reply

